Alt Text
Office of Neuroscience Research > Background and Leadership

Background and Leadership

The field of Neuroscience at Washington University has a long and rich history.  From the nobel-prize winning insights of Rita Levi-Montalcini and Viktor Hamburger on formation and development of the nervous sytem, through development of Positron Emission Tomography (PET) imaging, to current innovations in detection and treatment of Alzheimer's Disease, Washington University has remained among the preeminent institutions for Neuroscience Research.

Through these years of nervous system exploration, the field has evolved and expanded to include diverse sub-disciplines such as imaging, molecular biology, biomedical engineering, and genetics.  Moreover, collaborative and interdisciplinary research, common at Washington University, has brought Neuroscience Research into an increasing number of laboratories.  The Office of Neuroscience Research provides a starting point for investigators, generous supporters, recruits, and others seeking additional information about the Washington University Neuroscience Community.

The Office of Neuroscience Research is sponsored by the McDonnell Center for Cellular and Molecular Neurobiology, the McDonnell Center for Systems Neuroscience, and the Department of Neurology. 

Anneliese M. Schaefer, JD, PhD
Director, Office of Neuroscience Research


ONR Steering Committee 

Deanna Barch, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology

Azad Bonni, M.D., Ph.D.
Edison Professor and Chair of Anatomy & Neurobiology

David Holtzman, M.D.
Andrew B. and Gretchen P. Jones Professor and Chair of Neurology

Jeanne Nerbonne, Ph.D.
Alumni Endowed Professor of Developmental Biology

Steve Petersen, Ph.D.
James S. McDonnell Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience and Professor of Neurology

Charles Zorumski, M.D.
Samuel B. Guze Professor of Psychiatry