Arts & Sciences School of Medicine

AAAS names eight Washington University faculty as 2021 fellows

Eight faculty members at Washington University in St. Louis are among 564 new fellows selected by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the Science family of journals.

Arts & Sciences’ Leonard Green, PhD, Elizabeth S. Haswell, PhD, Sophia E. Hayes, PhD, Erik Herzog, PhD, Mark A. McDaniel, PhD, Jay W. Ponder, PhD and Crickette Sanz, PhD and the School of Medicine’s Pamela K. Woodard, MD will join the newest class of AAAS Fellows, among the most distinct honors within the scientific community.

The new fellows will receive an official certificate and a gold and blue rosette pin to commemorate their election (representing science and engineering, respectively) and will be celebrated later this year during an in-person gathering when it is feasible from a public health and safety perspective. The new class also will be featured in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science in January 2022.

Read more.