Arts & Sciences School of Medicine

Atkinson, Wingfield receive faculty achievement awards

John Atkinson and Adia Harvey Wingfield will receive Washington University in St. Louis’ 2022 faculty achievement awards, Chancellor Andrew D. Martin announced. 

They will be honored at the university’s annual Founders Day dinner in the fall.  

Physician-scientist Atkinson, MD, the Samuel B. Grant Professor of Medicine at the School of Medicine, will receive the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award. Wingfield, PhD, the Mary Tileston Hemenway Professor in Arts & Sciences, will receive the Arthur Holly Compton Faculty Achievement Award.

“We’re exceptionally proud to have esteemed scholars like John Atkinson and Adia Harvey Wingfield on the Washington University faculty,” Martin said.

“It’s a pleasure to be able to recognize them among their peers with these faculty achievement awards. Through their groundbreaking work on rare genetic diseases and the sociology of race, gender and class, respectively, they are ensuring that we stay at the forefront of world-class research in areas that are of great significance to our society today. I’m inspired by their brilliance as scientists and educators, and I thank them for their service to the academy and the world.”

Read more.