Bishop Lecture

In honor of George Holman Bishop, a pioneer in experimental neurology.


2024 George H. Bishop Lecture

June 13, 2024

Holtzman Symposium and George H. Bishop Lecture in Experimental Neurology 

Join the Department of Neurology in celebrating the contributions to our field of our former department chair, Dr. David M. Holtzman.

8:00 AM – 5:00 pm | Eric P. Newman Education Center Auditorium

George Holman Bishop joined the Washington University School of Medicine faculty in 1923 at the age of 34. He made essential contributions to studies of the compound action potential for which Erlanger and Gasser were awarded the Nobel Prize. His scientific interests were wide ranging and included correlating conduction velocities and nerve fiber diameters, analyses of the bases of cortical evoked potentials especially in the visual cortex, the role of dendrites in the production of cortical electrical activity, the peripheral and central bases for pain perception, and comparative phylogenetic analyses of central brain pathways.

Dr. Bishop was a critical, highly regarded and beloved colleague at Washington University and in the international community of neurophysiologists. He was known for his exceptional practical abilities, inside and outside the laboratory, his basic modesty, remarkable way with words and wonderful sense of humor. The George H. Bishop lectureship is the oldest named lectureship in basic neuroscience at Washington University.

The annual bishop lecture is hosted by the Department of Neurology.

Read the National Academy of Sciences biographical memoir of Dr. Bishop, written by Dr. William Landau.

Bishop Lecture archives with speakers dating back to 1956!
2023Dr. Christopher Walsh
2020Dr. Christian Haass
2019Dr. Jonathan Kipnis
2018Dr. Ralph Dacey
2017Dr. Don Cleveland
2016Dr. Berisłav V. Zloković
2014Dr. Maiken Nedergaard
2013Dr. Robert Darnell
2012Dr. Helen Mayberg
2011Dr. Tom Sudhof
2010Dr. Joshua Sanes
2009Dr. Mitchel Berger
2008Dr. Stephen Hauser
2007Dr. Story Landis
2006Dr. Steven M. Paul
2005Dr. Kenneth H. Fischbeck
2004Dr. Kevin P. Campbell
2003Dr. William C. Mobley
2002Dr. Virginia M. Y. Lee
2001Dr. R. Susan Zukin
2000Dr. Stephen Heinemann
1999Dr. Stanley Prusiner
1998Dr. Richard Tsien
1997Dr. David Prince
1996Dr. Allen Roses
1995Dr. Zach W. Hall
1994Dr. Gerald D. Fischbach
1993Dr. Mary C. Bushnell
1992Dr. Martin E. Schwab
1991Dr. Larry R. Squire
1990Dr. Sanford L. Palay
1989Dr. Torsten N. Wiesel
1988Dr. Robert H. Wurtz
1987Dr. Albert J. Aguayo
1986Dr. William D. Willis Jr.
1985Dr. Martin Raff
1984Dr. John Pappenheimer
1983Dr. Julian Jack
1982Dr. P. B. C. Matthews
1981Dr. Louis Sokoloff
1980Drs. Bernard Katz and Stephen Kuffler
1979Dr. Vernon B. Mountcastle
1978Dr. Gerald Edelman
1977Dr. Solomon H. Snyder
1976Dr. Rita Levi-Montalcini
1975Dr. Seymour Kety
1974Dr. Viktor Hamburger
1973Dr. Yves LaPorte
1972Dr. James O’Leary
1971Dr. Irving Diamond
1970Dr. Edward Perl
1969Dr. James Sprague
1968Dr. Carlton Hunt
1967Drs. Mila and Arnold Sheibel
1966Dr. R. W. Sperry
1965Dr. William Mehler
1964Dr. David Hubel
1963Dr. Theodore H. Bullock
1962Dr. Dixon M. Woodbury
1961Dr. Clinton N. Woolsey
1960Dr. W. H. A. Rushton
1959Sir Frances Walshe
1958Dr. Michael Fuortes
1957Dr. Stephen Kuffler
1956Dr. Harry Grundfest