McKelvey School of Engineering School of Medicine

Powderly, Setton receive faculty achievement awards

William G. Powderly (L) and Lori A. Setton (Photo: The Source)

William G. Powderly and Lori A. Setton will receive Washington University in St. Louis’ 2023 faculty achievement awards, Chancellor Andrew D. Martin announced. 

They will be honored at the university’s annual Founders Day dinner Nov. 4.

Powderly, MD, the Dr. J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine at the School of Medicine, will receive the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award.

Setton, PhD, the Lucy & Stanley Lopata Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the McKelvey School of Engineering, will receive the Arthur Holly Compton Faculty Achievement Award.

“It is one of my greatest pleasures when I have the chance to recognize the excellent work in research, teaching and service by our faculty. The Cori and Compton awards are two of the university’s most well-regarded by the faculty, who nominate their peers for this annual recognition, and I am thrilled that Bill and Lori are this year’s recipients,” Martin said.

“I applaud them both for their outstanding research and teaching achievements in their respective fields, and I thank them for their many contributions to advancing Washington University’s mission and helping to improve lives through their important work.”

Read more.