VIRTUAL OVCR Researcher Forum: “Resources for Effective Research Management”

January 12, 2022
8:30 am - 3:30 pm
Zoom conference (Virtual)

“Resources for Effective Research Management”

Hosted by the Department of Research Education and Information, under the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

The 2022 Researcher Forum provides faculty with information about the wealth of tools and resources available to them at Washington University. This year’s schedule provides a variety of sessions to help faculty and researchers navigate the complexities of the research environment while highlighting available resources.


  • Jean Allman, PhD (J.H. Hexter Professor in the Humanities Professor, African and African American Studies Director, Center for the Humanities)

  • Max Amurao, PhD, MBA (Director of the Office of Radiation Safety)

  • Meaghan Bailey, MPH (Manager (IPH), Center for Community Health Partnership & Research)

  • Monica Black Robinson, MA (Learning & Development – Career Development Professional, Office of Human Resources)

  • Hilary Broughton, MSW (Manager, Center for Community Health Partnership & Research)

  • Amanda Cashen, MD (Executive Chair, WashU IRB Professor of Medicine, Division of Oncology)

  • Hong Chen, PhD (Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and the Department of Radiation Oncology, Washington University in St. Louis)

  • Graham Colditz, MD, DrPH (Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery)

  • Susan Cook, PhD, CBSP, SM (NRCM) (Director of Biological Safety)

  • Angela Dartt, PhD, CIH (Director of the Office of Chemical Safety)

  • Catherine Determan (Funding Resources Coordinator, Research Development Office)

  • Karen L Dodson, MBA (Manager of Professional Development)

  • Michelle Doering (Clinical Librarian, Becker Medical Library)

  • Alan Fellers, MBA (Director, COI Programs)

  • James Fitzpatrick, PhD (Professor, Neuroscience and Cell Biology & Physiology Director, Center for Cellular Imaging School of Medicine)

  • Glenn Floyd, M.A. (Associate Director, Medical Corporate & Foundation Relations)

  • Susan L Foster, EdD, MBA, RHIA, CHPS (Privacy Compliance Educator)

  • Natalie Goodwin-Frank (Director, Research Development & Administration, McKelvey School of Engineering)

  • Farshid Guilak, PhD (Mildred B. Simon Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery)

  • Kevin Hardcastle (Chief Information Security Officer)

  • Emily Hixson Shepherd (Business Director, Department of Surgery)

  • Danny Jaschek (Senior Associate Director, Corporate and Foundations Relations)

  • Sean Joe, PhD (Principal Director, Race and Opportunity Lab)

  • Husain Lateef, PhD (Assistant Professor, Brown School)

  • Eric Lenze, MD (Professor of Psychiatry and Anesthesiology)

  • Thomas Maddox, MD, MSc (Vice President, Digital Products and Innovation, BJC HealthCare/Washington University School of Medicine Professor of Medicine (Cardiology))

  • Theresa Menk (Executive Director, Corporate Relations)

  • Jennifer Moore (Head of Data Services)

  • Kaitlin Moore (Clinical Research Coordinator)

  • Meredith L Moore, PhD (Director, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC))

  • Nicole Moore, DSc (Senior Director, Research Development)

  • Andrea M Morris, CCRC (Manager, Human Research Quality Assurance (HRQA) Program)

  • Erin Olson (Director of Finance and Communications, St. Louis VA Health Care System)

  • Craig Pohl, MS (Senior Director, Research Infrastructure Services, Washington University Information Technology)

  • Leena Prabhu, PhD (Associate Director, Licensing, Office of Technology Management)

  • Clifford Robinson, MD (Professor Departments of Radiation Oncology and Medicine (Cardiology) Director, Clinical Trials)

  • Melanie Roewe, JD (Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Development & Contracts)

  • Vetta Sanders-Thompson, PhD (Co-Director (IPH), Center for Community Health Partnership & Research, E. Desmond Lee Professor of Racial and Ethnic Diversity, Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion & Equity, Brown School)

  • Cathy C. Sarli, AHIP (Librarian, Becker Medical Library)

  • Christopher Sorensen, PhD (Senior Support Scientist)

  • Anne Stengle (Senior Director, Foundation Relations, Danforth Campus)

  • Angela Stevens (Clinical Research Coordinator)

  • Carrie Stoll, MPH, MSW (Staff Scientist, Division of Public Health Sciences)

  • Kurt Thoroughman, PhD (Faculty Fellow for Research Development, Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering)

  • Suresh Vedantham, MD (Assistant Dean for Clinical Research Medical Director, Center for Clinical Studies; Professor of Radiology and Surgery)

  • Megan White, JD (Director of Research Contracts)

  • Sherree Wilson, PhD (Associate Vice Chancellor and Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion)

  • Micah Zeller, JD (Head of Scholarly Communication Services, University Libraries)

Register for symposium and view session schedule

For inquiries contact Research Education and Information at