Designed to acknowledge the most original and important accomplishments in Neuroscience research at WashU by a predoctoral student or postdoctoral fellow

Join us for the 

2024 O’Leary Prize Competition

Live In Person!
Tuesday, March 12th

1:00pm-4:00pm | Moore Auditorium 

Refreshments provided

Congratulations to the 2024 Finalists!

Each Finalist will deliver a 10-minute presentation, and our judging panel will choose 2 winners to each receive a $1000 prize. Please join us for an afternoon of exciting science and competition, and to support Neuroscience at WashU!

  • Michael Fitzpatrick, Daniel Kerschensteiner lab (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
  • Yun Chen, David Holtzman lab (WashU Neurology)
  • Charles Pfeifer, PhD, Raj Apte lab (WashU Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences)
  • Leon Smyth, PhD, Jonathan Kipnis lab (WashU Pathology & Immunology)
  • Kia Barclay, Tristan Li lab (WashU Neuroscience)
  • “Liza” Yelyzaveta Bessonova, Barani Raman lab (WashU Biomedical Engineering)
  • Caitlin Dingwall, PhD, Jeffrey Milbrandt lab (WashU Genetics)
  • Saul Bello Rojas, Martha Bagnall lab (WashU Neuroscience)
  • Maria Gonzalez-Aponte, Erik Herzog lab (WashU Biology)
  • Aidan Schneider, Keith Hengen lab (WashU Biology)
  • Runnan Cao, PhD, Shuo Wang lab (WashU Radiology)


Dr. James L. O’Leary joined the faculty of the Department of Anatomy at Washington University in 1928.  In 1948 he joined the faculty of the Department of Neurology, becoming Head of the Department in 1946, remaining until 1971.  For many years, neuroscience research at Washington University was conducted by Dr. O’Leary and his colleagues.  They developed an interdisciplinary and interactive approach to the study of the nervous system that continues today.  Dr. O’Leary’s colleagues, admirers, and former students established a fund in 1975 to award a prize each year to a graduate student and/or postdoctoral fellow or resident for excellence in neuroscience research.

O’Leary Lecture

Each year, a past O’Leary Prize recipient is invited to be a guest judge and present the O’Leary Lecture.  The guest judge,  Joseph Castellano (Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai), will deliver the O’Leary Lecture on Wednesday March 13, 2024.

More on the O’Leary Lecture