Symposium to honor Herbert “Skip” Virgin

September 14, 2018
8:45 am - 5:00 pm
Eric P. Newman Education Center Auditorium (EPNEC; Medical Campus)

The Department of Pathology & Immunology invite you to attend the Symposium to honor: Herbert W. Virgin IV, MD, PhD: “Viral Pathogenesis: Present and Future”


8:45 am WELCOME

Paul M. Allen, PhD, Robert L. Kroc Professor, Pathology and Immunology

8:50 am REMARKS

Holden Thorp, PhD, Provost; Rita Levi-Montalcini Distinguished University Professor

David H. Perlmutter, MD, George and Carol Bauer Dean, School of Medicine; Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor; Executive Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs

MORNING SESSION CHAIR: Thad Stappenbeck, MD, PhD, Conan Professor, Pathology and Immunology
9:00 am Beth Levine, MD, Charles Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science; Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine and Microbiology; Director, Center for Autophagy Research; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

“From Viral Pathogenesis to Autophagy: The Story of Beclin 1 and Bcl-2”

9:40 am Mark Heise, PhD, Professor, Department of Genetics, University of North Carolina

“Using System Genetics to Study Viral Pathogenesis and Host Immunity”

10:20 am BREAK
10:50 am Mike Oldstone, MD, Professor, Department of Immunology and Microbiology; Head Laboratory of Viral-Immunobiology, Scripps Research Institute

“Concepts in Virology and Immunology Taught by LCMV”

11:30 am Tiffany Reese, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Immunology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

“Interactions Between Cytoplasmic DNA Sensing, Cholesterol Metabolism, Herpesvirus Infection”

AFTERNOON SESSION CHAIR: Ken Murphy, MD, PhD, Eugene Opie First Centennial Professor, Pathology and Immunology
1:00 pm Ramnik Xavier, MD, Kurt Isselbacher Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Core Faculty, Broad Institute

“Genes, Bugs, and Gut Immunity”

1:40 pm Ken Cadwell, PhD, Associate Professor, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine, Department of Microbiology, New York University School of Medicine

“Host-Virus Interactions and the Microbiota”

2:20 pm BREAK
2:50 pm Kim Y. Green, PhD, Chief, Caliciviruses Section, Laboratory of Infectious Diseases, NIAID, National Institutes of Health

“Murine Norovirus: The Mouse Virus that Roared”

3:30 pm Megan Baldridge, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Washington University School of Medicine

“Regulation of Norovirus Infection by the Commensal Microbiota”

4:10 pm Rafi Ahmed, PhD, Georgia Research Alliance Scholar; Director, Emory Vaccine Center, Emory University School of Medicine

“T Cell Adaption to Chronic Viral Infection”


Herbert W. Virgin IV, MD, PhD, Edward Mallinckrodt Professor, Pathology & Immunology