O’Leary Prize Competition

March 3, 2020
1:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Eric P. Newman Education Center Auditorium (EPNEC; Medical Campus)

2020 O’Leary Finalists

The finalists are listed in alphabetical order by last name, with current position and the lab in which the work was performed.

Please note, that this is not the order in which they will present.

  • Alexander Cammack (Graduate student, Timothy Miller lab): “Transcription factor-mediated epigenetic regulation in the healthy brain and neurological disease”
  • Fabia Filipello (Postdoctoral researcher, Celeste Karch & Laura Piccio labs): “The MS4A gene cluster is a key modulator of soluble TREM2 and Alzheimer’s disease risk”
  • Matthew Glasser (Radiology resident, David Van Essen lab): “A Multi-modal Parcellation of Human Cerebral Cortex”
  • Maud Gratuze (Postdoctoral researcher, David Holtzman lab): “Impact of TREM2 R47H variant on microgliosis, tau pathology and neurodegeneration in a mouse model of tau pathology”
  • Brian Lananna (Postdoctoral researcher, Erik Musiek lab): “Chi3l1/YKL-40 is controlled by the astrocyte circadian clock and regulates Alzheimer Disease pathogenesis”
  • Hailun (Helen) Li (Graduate student, Aaron DiAntonio lab): “A neuromodulatory circuit controlling the glial capacity to buffer K+ and regulate neuronal excitability”
  • Zhikai Liu (Graduate student, Martha Bagnall & Tim Holy labs): “Direct measurement of preferential sensory convergence in vivo underlying central vestibular tuning”
  • Dillan Newbold (Graduate Student, Nico Dosenbach lab): “Spontaneous activity pulses in disused human brain circuits”
  • Allison Soung (Graduate student, Robyn Klein lab):  “Astrocyte derived interleukin-1 regulates neural stem cell differentiation during recovery from West Nile encephalitis”

The Annual James L. O’Leary Prize for Research in Neuroscience is designed to acknowledge the most original and important accomplishments in Neuroscience Research at WashU by a predoctoral or postdoctoral fellow. This year’s guest judge is Robert Burgess (The Jackson Laboratory), one of the 2001 winners.

Learn more about the competition and see the list of past winners.

Note that our guest judge, Dr. Burgess will give the O’Leary Lecture on Wednesday, March 4.